Blizzard Baking: Part One

Oh man oh man. Chicago and pretty much the entire midsection of the country, you know what I’m talking about. They’re calling it the snowpocalypse. Classes are cancelled and everyone is freaking out. I am just excited. This is an opportunity for me to embrace being stuck inside and spend the day cooking and baking. And watch the violent wind have a snow fight with itself. It is seriously crazy out there.

I decided to catch up this blog by chronicling my culinary experiences in the next 48 hours. It’ll be more fun to write than going back and remembering all the things I’ve been making these past couple of weeks.

Thing is, I was supposed to be in class this evening. Last night we started our laminates, or puff pastry and croissant doughs, with butter folded into the dough in the most delicious way. We were supposed to bake them up tonight, but seeing as that isn’t going to happen, I’m going to make some here at home, and bake them up tomorrow. I’m hoping this experience will be much better than my last attempt.

So here we are so far:

Thrilling.

I will fold in the butter soon. Then it rests, then I fold, then it rests, then I fold, and on and on and on. Besides this I’ve got a long list of things to make, so grab a beer and get cozy. We’ve got a long blizzard ahead of us.

I might be biased but this is the best brewery name ever! Also, this milk stout is delicious!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer and Vino, Blizzard, Chocolate

Leave a Reply

