Lessons from Pastry School

Last week I began baking and pastry school. After about ten hours of class, both classroom and kitchen time, I feel like I’m already learning so much. Here’s a rundown of what I’ve learned so far:

1. How to tie a neckerchief.

2. How itchy neckerchiefs can be.

3. How you can’t get into the cafeteria without being in full uniform, including your neckerchief.

4. How to make really flaky biscuits.

5. Homework in my class means bringing home my work and eating it the next morning for breakfast.

6. How to make delicious scones and blueberry muffins.

7. How NOT to transport those scones and muffins home. And how crumbly and smush-prone freshly baked scones and muffins can be. It’s days later and I am still finding crumbs on the seat of my car.

8. How to deal with one wash station for a class of 20 people. Then again, I think we’re still trying to figure that out. This is probably my least favorite thing about class.

9. How there’s gloriously no traffic driving home after class (as opposed to the drive in), so I can make it home by midnight.

10. How much I love what I’m doing.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Pastries

4 responses to “Lessons from Pastry School

  1. Hey Kelly!
    Congrats on starting! Where are you at? I’ve been in Kendall’s savory program for about a year and am absolutely loving it. Can’t wait to hear more of your stories.

  2. I’m so excited to hear more about pastry school!!!

    Living vicariously through you šŸ™‚

  3. I miss your copious blogging, Kelly! I still check every day, and live vicariously through your old baking projects. Miss you tons, hope everything is still going well. Any updates on when you can move in?

Leave a Reply

