Ann Arbor Antics

Last weekend I went to Ann Arbor, Michigan to visit my friend Alex.  We spent most of the weekend cooking and eating, but managed some fun adventures in between as well.

We got hot dogs at this place called Le Dog, which Alex’s professor recommended. It’s a hot dog stand, and it’s fabulous.  I love hot dogs. I know they’re not good for you, but I can’t help but love them.  And these were top dogs. And they also served lobster bisque along with other yummy soups. Apparently the owner was a chef in New York, but grew disenchanted with that whole world so he moved to Ann Arbor and opened up this little shop.  He’s so good that he even catered the wedding of Alex’s professor.  Super cool.


We hit up the Farmers Market on Saturday which was a blast.  I bought Kimchi, from The Brinery, which this guy David makes with local ingredients. If you don’t know what kimchi is, (I didn’t), it’s fermented Korean vegetables, with hot pepper, cabbage and lots of other yummy stuff. It’s delicious.  We also bought a raspberries and a roast, which we cooked for dinner that night. It was our first roast meat experience, and it turned out quite successfully I’d say…at least for a first attempt.

For dessert, in keeping with the season, we made a pumpkin role.  Oh boy.  This thing, and by this thing I mean anything pumpkin combined with cream cheese frosting…so good. So good that even though we were full from dinner, we still ate our entire serving of dessert.

We survived the feasting enough to go for cider and doughnuts the next morning.  A few bees/wasps tried to steal our treats but we weren’t having any of it.

All in all, it was a wonderful weekend.  Before leaving, we went to Zingerman’s Deli , which was just incredible.  I was in love.  So many foods, so much enthusiasm for good food, so much deliciousness.  I could go on and on, but I’m just going to say, if you are ever in Ann Arbor, do NOT miss this place.  It’s wonderful.

I made the drive home in only four hours (because I am a highway fiend!), went to sleep, then woke up at 5:45am the next morning for my second road trip of the week to Northern Wisconsin.  Stay tuned for cranberry adventures!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Fruit, Travel

Leave a Reply

