In the name of research!

Yesterday we went into Siena. There are a ton of pasteccerie selling all sorts of traditional Tuscan and Sienese sweets, so naturally I had to check them out.  All in the name of research for the future bakery of course.

I think Nana and Papa Tom liked this plan too.


Luckily for me, some of the places even posted their ingredient lists.  I foresee some experimenting upon my return. Mwahaha.

Back in Castellina that afternoon, we were drawn outside by the sound of a marching band of old men!  They slowly made their way down the street, totally enjoying themselves.

Nana even told me that back in the day on Taylor street, (where old/new bakery were/will be), this same kind of thing would happen.  How awesome is that.


There was these two old women on the balcony watching, and one of them was just totally into it.  She had the biggest smile on her face and she was dancing and clapping along.


I think one of the band members noticed too. It was one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen.

Speaking of cute, this is Lina’s granddaughter (Giacomo’s daughter) Julia. Aww.

And yesterday, Monica’s father gave my Nana blackberries that he handpicked himself.  They made a terrific topping on gelato.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bakery, Bread, Cookies, Fruit, Italian, Travel

Leave a Reply

